Am I The Girl

Am I the girl

enclosed in the clear reflection

of the glass mirror-

the girl scrutinizing her

every line

every shadow

every flaw

every pigment-

Or am I the girl

whose tears

are indistinguishable from

the drops of rain

that sting her face,

as she gazes longingly at the sky

above.

 

Or am I the girl

who drowned her rage

at God

and the world

one night with pills and

etched marks on my skin

to reveal the wounds inside.

 

Or am I the girl

who lived life on the

days she could not-

so no one outside

could glismpe

torn pieces

behind

the shallow glow

in my eyes,

beaming toward

the camera light.

girl_rain_walk_mood_pier_fog_54377_1600x1058

Leave a Reply

