Did Not See

I wanted to laugh in his face-

he sat there,

on that too stiff, expensive leather chair

and told me

it was not my fault.

I laugh

because he did not have to see

the day  I cried for myself

while my sister cried for me.

He did not have to see

the spirit slowly dampen in my parent’s eyes

and wither away

in silence.

The words affirming his credentials and licenses

on cheap, adorned papers

hung on the stark white walls

mean nothing to me.

He does not see what I see.

He is not the one

drowning

in a black abyss of  shifting sea.

Leave a Reply

